cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Best generator

Bfrnk
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new at rving but I've researched every site about best or quieter generators and I'm still at odds. What do y'all recommend? My bro in law just ought an Onan but just inot sure!
73 REPLIES 73

Explorer II
Explorer II
dieseltruckdriver wrote:
I do not understand the thinking of people that want to cheap out on power for the RV that they have paid tens of thousands for.
I do not understand why someone would care how others spend their money.

I bought my first Champion 120V 3500W in 2008 right after hurricane Ike. I had to buy what was available locally right then. Not much shopping around and grabbed what was left on the shelf. 13 yrs later and It still works as it did the day I bought it.

I stumbled onto a sale on a Champion 120/240V 3500W at HD in 2011. Heck, I can use that 240V 3500W to run my water well when we lose power at the house. It's a nice upgrade for less $ than what I paid for the 120V model. I walked in HD to buy nails and walked out with a $300 generator. This one is my workhorse. It powers my welder, recharges the battery powered golf cart when the kids leave it down the road with a dead battery. I can't say how many hours it has on it. It ran 80 hrs non-stop during our Texas freeze last winter. I didn't even turn it off to refuel. 10 yrs later and It still works as it did the day I bought it.

I have been so pleased with Champion I did not hesitate to buy their 3400W inverter model a few yrs ago to power the RV AC while Wallydocking. Someone here pointed out this model was on sale and I jumped on it. I've had battery issues with this one but other than that, so far so good.

And I own all that for the price of a single Honda EU2000i.
2011 Ford F-150 EcoBoost SuperCab Max Tow, 2084# Payload, 11,300# Tow,
Timbrens
2013 KZ Durango 2857

Skibane
Explorer II
Explorer II
dieseltruckdriver wrote: