cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rent or Buy for 10 month trip?

MickiJeana
Explorer
Explorer
I have a window of opportunity to be without a home, and travel while I work, from August to May 2018. Want to live in something like a 25' Winnebago Spirit and travel around the US. I would work out of my 'home'. After August would want to sell my RV, if I chose to buy one. Question is: should I buy a used RV or try to find a long term rental? I am a total newbie.
28 REPLIES 28

BBminn
Explorer
Explorer
Hello, for 10 months I would suggest buying a good used rv.
we currently put our 2010 Itasca sunova for sale on rvtrader.com. It may work for you.

Good luck and safe travels.

Boon_Docker
Explorer III
Explorer III
For 10 months it would cost you as much to rent one as it would to purchase one.

rockhillmanor
Explorer
Explorer
DownTheAvenue wrote:
MickiJeana wrote:
Question is: should I buy a used RV or try to find a long term rental? I am a total newbie.

You obviously have not researched the cost of RV rental. If you had, you would know the answer to your question.

X2

We must be willing to get rid of the life we've planned,
so as to have the life that is waiting for us.

NYCgrrl
Explorer
Explorer
IAMICHABOD wrote:
As already mentioned,maybe buying a Former Rental might be the way to go. They come with a 1 year or 12,000 mile power train warranty and 30 days on all major appliances and their dealer service centers are nationwide.

There are more than 80 happy owners that have contributed to the Rental thread above.

You will get a RV that has been refurbished and all service has been done over it's lifetime,some like mine come with all the records from day one. With a used one from a private party or dealer you may not know what you are getting or if it had the proper maintenance or any warranties unless you want to pay extra.

Thanks for clarifying on the warranty aspect of buying from a rental company. Wasn't sure about that:c.