cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will This Be a Bad Move for a New RVer?

Mooredb
Explorer
Explorer
I am totally new to owning an RVing and I have decided I need to get a toy hauler. I need it for events that I will be traveling around to throughout the year.

I found a beautiful 39ft Highlander https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zOZDSnCr8pc&t that I am interested in. I plan to buy a 1 ton dully to tow the trailer but here's my questions.

1) I don't have a problem driving and pulling trailers but man this is HUGE, and I am a bit worried that it might be too much for a beginner to take on. There are so many things I don't know what I don't know. I would be interested in hearing people's feedback on this size of trailer, pulling and trying to find a place to park. Is this a mistake for a beginner to start out with?

2) There are SO many different brands out there but they all seem to somewhat have the same look and feel to them. But not sure about the quality and the company. The one I am looking at is 2017 Highlander HF39RGL, does anyone have any experience with this brand? What other brands should I consider? I'll be on the road 4 months out of the year traveling and I want something that will hold up and be comfortable.

Thanks for any advice!
27 REPLIES 27

theoldwizard1
Explorer
Explorer
donn0128 wrote:
Start small and start used. Going giant first is a huge mistake. You dont know what you dont know until s--- happens. Then its too late.

This is probably the BEST advice !

old_guy
Explorer
Explorer