cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Advice on Honda 2000 Generator

jkbrea
Explorer
Explorer
I have a pair of 2000's with the parallel cables. They run great and I really like them. I service them by cleaning the filter, changing the oil often and replacing plugs. I can take them out after months of storage and they start right up. The only problem is when I'm camping I leave them outdoors locked with a cable. When the temperature drops overnight and I try to start them, they run for about 5 seconds then stall. The red oil light goes on for a few seconds. This goes on for about ten minutes before they run properly. I thought it may be the altitude but last time I brought one inside the RV overnight. In the morning it worked perfect. I'm no mechanic but I believe the oil may be thickening up some with the cold and not able to pump properly until it warms up some. Anyone ever have this issue and should I try a different weight oil? Using 10w30 now.
9 REPLIES 9

Vulcaneer
Explorer
Explorer
Add about 2oz of oil. May need to tip it a little to get the oil in. Then cap it. You will have no more problem. I guarantee it.
'12 F350 SB, CC, SRW, 6.7 PSD, 3.55 RAR, 6 spd auto
2015 DRV 38RSS 'Traditions'
Pullrite Super Glide 18K

Retirement = It's all poops and giggles....UNTIL someone Giggles and Poops.

opnspaces
Navigator II
Navigator II
Have you tried leaving the choke lever on for an extended period after starting cold? Maybe try starting with choke on, then after a few seconds move to half choke. After a while move the choke to all the way open.

You can also try the sticky from the tech forum on how to clean out the carburetor. Link
2001 Suburban 4x4. 6.0L, 4.10 3/4 ton **** 2005 Jayco Jay Flight 27BH **** 1986 Coleman Columbia Popup

ianmac23
Explorer
Explorer