cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Flat towing a Jeep YJ

Dexter_Bob
Explorer
Explorer
Wondering if I will have any difficulty flat towing a Jeep YJ with my Dodge 3500 DRW CTD and 4000lb camper? I have a StowMaster tow bar to connect to the jeep and was going to add a couple of trailer tail lights and pigtail to the jeep.

Would I be safe without supplemental braking?
2013 Adventurer 910FBS
TorkLift SuperHitch,Tiedowns, Fastguns,
2013 Dodge 3500 DRW CTD
10 REPLIES 10

LaddieHanus
Explorer
Explorer
FIRE UP wrote:

Well Sir, it sort of depends on what year "YJ" you're intending on towing. The early ones, as in the first year for the YJ, '87 through '90 utilized much of the drive train from the CJ years. And that drive train, while many do and have done, as well as I, can be towed but, not without certain precautions.

But, the later YJs, the '91s and later, had the newer style "231" transfer case which, has its own oil pump, just inside the rear output housing. So, those model years can be flat towed without issues, what so ever. Just make sure you're in neutral on the T/C and the trans, if a stick, is in 2nd, at least that's the way I set up ours for a zillion miles of towing. And, if an automatic, Park is fine.

Scott

The Dana 300 was not used in the YJ.

87 models had the NP207 transfer case
88 and up had the NP231. If you wish to crawl under my 89 you will see the np231 tag on the TC and I bought it new in March of 89. The only drivetrain carried over from the CJ was the 4.2L six, the auto trans, and the block of the 2.5 4 cyl (it was changed over to TBI fuel injection in 87)

Before 95 the recreational towing instructions must be followed as the TC tied the front and rear driveshafts together, relying on the vaccum disconnect axle. Starting the engine could cause the axle to engage. Google true neutral kit for the fix.

I have seen you say the above in a couple of posts and wanted to set the record straight.