cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Just getting started

fmjnax
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here, not just to the forums but all the way around. I wasn't sure where this post best fit or the best title for it so I hope it is fine here.

Quick background: I live in the Dallas, TX area. Aside from towing 20' and less boats, cars on the back of large moving trucks, and small utility trailers, I do not have travel trailer experience. My grandmother could no longer afford her TT payments so I agreed to take them over for her. Biggest problem with that is that she lives in Idaho, some 1600 miles away. Aside from pictures and word of mouth from family, I know nothing about the TT (my entire extended family does summer TT living in Idaho, so I generally trust their word of mouth on the topic).

Anyway, the TT is a 2005 Dutchmen M-29R-DSL. 33.5'. Just north of 7500 lbs dry. About 950 lbs dry hitch. Professionally serviced yearly and should be in great shape.

My truck is a 2016 F-150 XLT 4x4 (FX4) with the 3.5L Ecoboost and tow package. I believe it has the WD hitch (11k lbs a 1.1k lbs tongue weight).

I will be making the drive up to Idaho to pick up the trailer in July and will be bringing it back to Texas. I've been researching, but I'm just not sure what I need to do to prepare for the tow (reading things about stabilizers, sway, etc).

I want to try and have the truck and trailer ready to go before I get there. I tried to read through as much of the beginner sticky links as possible, but I just can't seem to make sense of it. It is A LOT of information to comprehend. I figured I would just make my own thread and see if I can get some personalized information. Where do I even begin?!
11 REPLIES 11

atwowheelguy
Explorer
Explorer
Check the weight carrying (not towing) capacity on the sticker on the side of the driver's door.