cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Newbie here, no RV, but have serious situation. need advice

Caroline5
Explorer
Explorer
I don't even know where to begin. I live in the Seattle area and my 89 year old mother lives up in Winnipeg in Central Canada. Yesterday she broke her leg when she was hit by a car while crossing at a crosswalk in a store parking lot. The driver was totally at fault as he was looking for a parking spot and not paying attention to where he was going.
I am thinking that the best thing for her and her German Shepherd would be to bring them down here while she mends. She no longer wants to fly and can not sit very long in a car, so I am wondering if renting and RV would be a good option for transporting her as comfortably as possible. I have course have no idea how much that would cost, how comfortable it would be for her to ride in an RV or anything else. Please help me, as I want to get as much information as possible before I present the idea to her in more detail. Or if there is anyone driving out this way that could transport her in a month or so please let me know. My mom is a wonderful woman, very much loved and very intelligent.
It isn't as if I didn't have enough on my plate for this summer, with prom coming up for one daughter, a new grandson up in Edmonton for another and the third daughter getting married in August. Plus a home business to run and various other responsibilities. My mother can't stay in her home because it is an old 2 story with a long steep flight of stairs going up to the second floor and no bathroom on the main floor. Staying at my sister's isn't an option either. She is afraid that she may have to give up her dog who gives her life so much meaning and who was one of the top German Shepherds in obedience in Canada.
31 REPLIES 31

2gypsies1
Explorer II
Explorer II
It's been a month and a half since the first post. I assume you found a way to deal with the problem by now. Let us know.