cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

12/24v Solar Controller --> 6v Batteries

RICH807
Explorer
Explorer
Background: Purchased a used coach, came with a solar panel/controller setup that's connected to Two 6-volt house batteries. I got no paperwork for any of it but scouring the interwebs I at least found out what kind of controller is in place (a Chinese brand w/little info in the online manual). Literature describes it as a 12/24v unit.

I'm FAR from an electrical expert but it seems like the batteries are getting heavily charged during the day (boiling or near boiling the fluid... can audibly hear them peculating louder than what I'd expect. Seems like something's not right with the system but again, I'm not an electrical guy & never had any solar home or RV equipment before now.

Question: Can using a 12/24v solar controller lashed up to a solar panel send too much voltage to 6v batteries effectively killing them prematurely?

Pretty sure I need to replace these 2 house batteries but I don't know if I should go back to the OEM setup of Group-24 12v types or stay with 2 6v types.

Thanks much for any assistance you guys can offer!
22 REPLIES 22

MEXICOWANDERER
Explorer
Explorer
Just point the steering wheel straight and punch it. We have a solar CONTROLLER, not a voltage regulator.

Airdaile
Explorer
Explorer
I had an issue with solar overcharging that ended up being caused by someone connecting the charger wrong. You need to connect the batteries first, then the panels.

BFL13
Explorer II
Explorer II
Boon Docker wrote:
BFL13 wrote:
Ignore everything to do with lights and loads. Only thing to set for you is the max voltage it lets the battery get to. (Whatever they are calling that)

On the Solar30 they call it "cease charging" but all it means is that is when the controller starts controlling--ie stops the battery voltage from going any higher.

I do believe the battery charge settings are preset and can not be changed.