cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Burnt wires in power distribution panel

BeeBee
Explorer
Explorer
While tracing the cause of an intermittent electrical failure in an electrical circuit in our ORV 21RBS, I discovered that all of the neutral wires in the power distribution panel were 'burnt" where they attached to the block. I pulled the wire for the problem circuit, cleaned it, reattached it and the problem was solved(fridge now works on AC). I am wondering if a power surge might have been the cause of the burnt wires. We did stay at a few campgrounds this past summer with power hookups. Any thoughts on possible causes? I am thinking about getting a surge protector after this incident, even though we mostly dry camp. Below is a link to a pic of the wires in question (well, I hope there is a link below, as I am new to this).

Click For Full-Size Image.
28 REPLIES 28

CharlesinGA
Explorer
Explorer
BeeBee wrote:
Thanks all for the replies. Is an "ATS" the "transfer switch" ? Is that the switch that switches from DC to AC? Where might I find that in my travel trailer?

Read thru the thread and saw that no one ever answered this. The ATS is a switch that allows shore power 120v to your panel and then when an onboard generator is started, it shuts the shore power off and allows the generator power to take over.

The ATS has NOTHING to do with DC 12v power.

If you have a motorhome with a generator you might have an ATS or you might simply have an outlet for the generator that you roll up the shore cord in its compartment and plug it into the generator outlet (manual transfer switch of sorts).

If you have a trailer and no onboard generator you won't have a ATS. If you have a built in generator you might or might not have an ATS or the outlet and plug setup I described above.

Charles