Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

dumping gray water, apparently no vent?

philh
Explorer II
Explorer II
Black water dumps fine.

Gray water tank is obviously not vented. Should it be? What can I do to overcome the vacuum issue while dumping?
10 REPLIES 10

joebedford
Nomad II
Nomad II
The grey water vent on my rig is under the kitchen sink.

randallb
Explorer
Explorer
Pull the black tank handle and allow it to drain. Leave it open and pull the grey tank handle. The gray water will help flush the bottom of the black tank and your grey tank will drain just fine. My 08 HR had the grey vent plumbed in to the piping not the tank and it was a little slow unless the black tank was left open.
Randy

philh
Explorer II
Explorer II
I'll look at the trailer next time pick it up. I only remember one roof vent.

Great idea on the black water tank partial open.

This trailer is brand new to me, and I'm brand new to camping and TT, so still learning, but no stranger to plumbing.

Halibut214
Explorer
Explorer
philh wrote:
Black water dumps fine.

Gray water tank is obviously not vented. Should it be? What can I do to overcome the vacuum issue while dumping?

What you can do is leave your black water valve partially open to vent it.

j-d
Explorer II
Explorer II
Sometimes a vent pipe "stack" will drop from its proper position (height) at the rooftop. If it drops enough to submerge the tank end into the tank contents (liquid) it is no longer a vent. Can you get up there and look? Would probably have to remove a vent cap/cover to see.
If God's Your Co-Pilot Move Over, jd
2003 Jayco Escapade 31A on 2002 Ford E450 V10 4R100 218" WB

Dave_H_M
Explorer II
Explorer II
how long have you had the camper and did it always do that?

Old-Biscuit
Explorer III
Explorer III
IF the Air Admittance Valves failed grey tank would still drain properly unless vent line is obstructed.

Reason for the AAVs is to keep 'P' traps from getting sucked dry when drain grey tank.