cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Electrical cord wrapped in a circle cause problems?

Winged_One
Explorer
Explorer
Several weeks back was at a private campground. The owner and another fellow were trying to work out a lack of ground on their 50 amp connection (this really is neither here nor there).

Anyway, the owner (a man in his 70/80's) said that having my 50 amp cord wrapped in a circle (you know, like a snake curled up), can cause electrical issues (feedback, etc).

Hey, I am no electrician.

Any reason we shouldn't wrap our electrical cords, or is it an old wives tale?

Or was it an issue way back, but with better insulation in the cords, not an issue anymore?
2013 F350 6.7 DRW SC Lariat
2011 Brookstone 354TS
Swivelwheel 58DW
1993 GL1500SE
Yamaha 3000ISEB
52 REPLIES 52

jmnoeth
Explorer
Explorer
Bottom line, coiling the cord should not cause any problems, unless you have some pretty extreme conditions.

Heating of the cord could be a problem, if the ambient temperature around the cord is significantly high, and the current draw through the cord is also high. But, under normal circumstances it should not be a problem. As mentioned in other posts, from a theoretical perspective, the inductive reactance of a coiled cord versus one that is not coiled would cause some losses. But, at 60hz (normal power line frequency), these losses would require very sensitive equipment just to measure them. Actually, the inductive reactance would more than likely be offset by the capacitive reactance of the conductors in the cord that essentially run parallel to each other.

bucky
Explorer II
Explorer II
Wait a minute, we are all wrong. Since the coiled cord had AC it could not have caused a fire from heat. Only a DC coiled cord can start a fire. I'm sorry that I missed this earlier.
Puma 30RKSS

gkainz
Explorer
Explorer
so that really WAS rocket surgery!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
'07 Ram 2500 CTD 4x4 Quad Cab
'10 Keystone Laredo 245 5er

pnichols
Explorer II