cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

FHU - Solar - Battery Charging

CT_WANDERER
Explorer
Explorer
Question on Solar and Battery charging when in FHU Park. I have 600W Solar system with TS45 PWM Charge controller. My battery bank that I am using is 4 GC2. I am a high dc user, during evening to morning I can use over 100AH. TV's, Sat, light led light, have 12/120 freezer. My voltage on either the solar controller or Trimetric shows 12.4 v for a low volts in the morning. During the day, I can get up to 197AH of the solar panels ( depending on how much I drained the batteries and what I am using during the day).
This is my first time out where I am getting very good sun(RGV area) on my system, 34.4AH for high. Will cycling my batteries like this cause high water lost? Batteries return to 99% every day, I see the charge controller going into PWM down to 25%. My solar charge program is set for high 14.4V. I have my AC converter turned off, just working off solar. Would I be better off keeping the Converter turn on? I am trying to keep my shore AC use low as possible, but I don't want to damage my batteries. I hope you guys can make heads and tail of what I am doing and my question. Thanks for all your input. Gary
14 REPLIES 14

reed_cundiff
Explorer
Explorer
There was a question if shore power was expensive. It is extremely expensive when boondocking

tpi
Explorer
Explorer
pianotuna wrote:
Any time I have shore power I'm going to use it. Even if you pay for the power it is better for the battery bank to remain fully charged.

How about this? Use your shore power at night and your panels during the day when they'll cover the loads and batteries won't discharge? You'll save a little power and not cycle the batteries.

westend
Explorer
Explorer
CT_WANDERER wrote:
westend wrote:
You shouldn't lose any appreciable water (more than usual, you will lose some) in the batteries if the controller is set up correctly. What controller are you using?