cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

ALL truck campers ,Basic construction,truck tie downs info.

todsme
Explorer
Explorer
My qualifications for this post is that I have been refurbishing truck campers for 16 years,as extra income. 60 plus campers ,an estimate. These are some observations, given in modesty. Camper Construction: Front wall under sleeper is the most important part of a campers design . Carrying a large part of the cantilver weight of sleeper,a cross member for camper wings,load bearing corners of front Jacks.Rear of campers,in most cases lose integrity the the longer the camper (8.5-11.5), magnified with a side door camper. I will not go into details.Measure camper wings to top of truck bed. SLides and generators tax the rear part of campers.Good habits-Lightly apply rear turn buckles,Rear holding waste holding tanks; don't travel when full.Always lock back door, especially on older or wood framed campers when traveling.Don't use stinger,towing extensions that attach to camper.And so on.Camper mounting- Use a rubber mat , especially with plastic bed liners. A bed lift with Ford trucks, loading older campers.wedges of any design that align camper in bed when loading, preferably with Teflon skids.Raise front of camper first when unloading.3to4 inches,keep this way until setting camper on saw horses ,or? , Settling close to ground.this will greatly reduce front Jack's from binding and front swing-out brackets for dually trucks from twisting.Best to have fresh water tank with low fill.Happi-jac campers anchors work great on most trucks( pull to front , and at an arc ) ,tork lift do the job.Over tightening of turn buckles,or non spring loaded, sloppy truck suspension,lifted truck, driving out of places (gas station)at an angle fast, speed bumps;you will thrash something, Usually one of your camper anchor points. Bigfoot, Eagle Cap,Arctic Fox,Lance,Alpenlite,They all are susestipal to ripped out tie downs; magnified with slide