Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

camper axle lube question ?

maxwell11
Explorer
Explorer
rig maintenance question:

I know its off topic for this section, but most of you guys are in charge of lube and maintenance of your rigs.

new jayco 27 foot bumper pull trailer last year, pulled it about 1000 miles or less.

this year I was going to pull the rubber grease zerk covers off each hub and shoot a few pumps of axle grease in each hub.
per manual: grease flows from end of axle through and up into the cavity of the hub.

would 4 or 5 shots of grease from a manual grease gun be sufficient?

Thanks,
Fred

I plan to carry my grease gun with me and check the hubs at each stop.
but, I know if over lubed grease could get onto the brakes.
33 REPLIES 33

bigtime_077
Explorer
Explorer
This is all some really good discussion. This is my first new camper so I am still learning the ins and outs of buying new. Such as that some dealers charged extra for full propane bottles, batteries, and a spare tire. I had all of that included but never would have given much thought to the axles. Just would have assumed new camper meant that the rig was at least road worthy. I was going to check the hubs anyway before we left but now that I found this thread I may need more than just the 2 tubes of grease I bought for the axles to actually fill the voids between the bearings.

mooky_stinks
Explorer
Explorer
My Dexter manual that came with my trailer also states the wheel doesn't need to be spun to grease it. Not sure if this is true for all though. Our neighbor lost a tire and axle on the 2nd trip out with a brand new trailer. The shop said the bearings had very little grease and they see it a lot.
2020 F150 XL Screw 4x4 6.5”box
3.5 ecoboost Max tow HDPP
7850 GVW. 4800 RAWR
2565 payload

2020 Cougar 29RKS 5th wheel

ib516
Explorer II
Explorer II
I give mine 10 or so pumps of grease at the start of the season. Has worked for me so far (4 years).