cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Choosing my first trailer

fpmtngal
Explorer
Explorer
I'm completely new to the RV world and am trying to choose my first trailer. There's only me and my tow vehicle is a V6 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4x4. So far I have decided that I want something that is no longer than 21 feet, anything longer won't fit in my yard and I think longer would mean greater maneuverability problems than I want to put up with.

My choices at the moment are the 2 smaller Lance trailers (1685 and 1575) and the R Pods. I'm definitely open for other ideas, my "must-haves" are a bathroom, room to stand up in, and perhaps a full time bed (this is negotiable somewhat). I'm not going to be full-timing it, but do want to take some long road trips after I retire next year and will have no boss to control my time. I would consider the smallest Airstream, though it's really out of my price range. I want a well built trailer that will provide the most years of jtravel without the headaches of correcting poor construction.

Should the distance from my home to the manufacturer's factory be something to consider, if all other things are equal? Im in SoCal so the Lance factory isn't all that far from me, I would think that it would be easier to get parts and warranty work done than if I were to buy an R Pod or some other trailer. Or would that matter at all?

What other trailers should I consider?
24 REPLIES 24

Bigbird65
Explorer
Explorer
Sure nice to have one motor for the slide and to not have to run the slide out for a bathroom break.
2017 RAM 1500 Quad Cab 5.7L Hemi, 8 speed 3.21
2018 Winnebago Minnie 2250DS

fpmtngal
Explorer
Explorer