cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Good TV truck brakes

NanciL
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have been pulling travel trailers for almost twenty years now, and yesterday for the first time forgot to plug in the cable from the truck to the trailer.
Fortunately when we are at a camp site, I always keep it wrapped around my tongue jack and handle, so it didn't suffer any damage.
The trailer is a 25 footer. 5000 pound one.
I never even noticed that I was unplugged until about fifteen miles away, after stopping at red lights and various interchanges.
While driving it all of a sudden dawned on me that I couldn't recall plugging so pulled over in a safe spot.
The truck is a new 2014 Dodge Ram so I guess it has good brakes, (or used to have good ones)

Jack L
Jack & Nanci
18 REPLIES 18

canoe_on_top
Explorer
Explorer
I am always amazed when people say things like, "I don't hook up my brakes but we don't travel far." Acknowledging that caveman Charlie does have his hooked up, do these people think that they might never have an emergency braking situation close to home? Are there intersections in their neighborhood? Do they ever get up to highway speeds in 50 miles from home? Kind of like saying I don't need to fasten my seatbelt because I'm only going to the grocery store.

tragusa3
Explorer
Explorer
There are too many bells and whistles to miss it in my truck. I do the hookup, my wife checks my work while I run through the checklist on the truck computer.
New to us 2011 Tiffin Allegro Open Road 34TGA
Join us on the road at Rolling Ragu on YouTube!

nomad297
Explorer
Explorer
WDP wrote:
Safety FIRST, full trailer exterior light check then running brake test,every hook up, no chance to miss a connection issue.

WDP

My wife and I do this every time we hookup, just before we leave.

Bruce
2010 Skyline Nomad 297 Bunk House, 33-1/4 feet long
2015 Silverado 3500HD LTZ 4x4, 6.0 liter long bed with 4.10 rear, 3885# payload