cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hit a bump and lost my transmission

silverfz
Explorer
Explorer
2008 Tundra 155k . Tows a 7k TT. I hit a bump on highway, felt a jerk and then it went into limp mode. Towed it home and all i could smell was burnt oil.
Aamco rebuilt it and promptly a tree fell on it . So now geico has totalled the truck and offering 17k. ...anyway crazy i cannot find anything close to this price for the 10 days i use the truck in a year.I did put brand new tires and brakes before it.

The buy back is 4800 and i am thinking of keeping it as the damage is all cosmetic. nothing mechanical.
I think its a good decision but i have no experience with a rebuilt transmission . Not a factory rebuilt . those were like 8k, so just aamco rebuilt with a new valve body on it. 18k/ 1.5 year warranty just started.

looking for some input rebuilt transmission .Also someone to tell me letting go is a better idea.
i have a jeep wrangler , 2 motorcycles for my personal use [been working from home for 4yr to one or two work trips a year]. My wife has a ford explorer and jetta [work mileage car] . so the truck is used maybe 10-15 days for towing.
2014 avenger 28 bhs
2008 Toyota tundra crew max
guarded by bear the mini dashound
running from payload police edition
30 REPLIES 30

Grit_dog
Navigator
Navigator
^Who says?
Yes prices are higher but it’s not like they’re gold.
Besides, OP has enough info already. He doesn’t “need” the truck for the winter. He can dump it and not maximize his roi or he can get it fixed, drive the hell out of it and then decide if he wants to sell it in a week, month or 10 years from now.
He’s got the options, this thread needs to die before it gets so far into the weeds.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

mkirsch
Nomad II
Nomad II