cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How far can you tow prior to fill up?

John_Joey
Explorer
Explorer
Thinking about getting rid of the Class A and getting a different RV for traveling cross country in. So bear with me since I'm really new to TT's.

As a newbie to TT's I'm attempting to wrap my head around how far you guys can pull prior to a fillup. If all you're getting is 10mpg and a standard pull vehicle has lets say a 14 gallon tank then you must be pulling over all the time to fill up. What am I missing?
There’s no fool, like an old fool.
102 REPLIES 102

chevor
Explorer
Explorer
My truck has 110 gallon capacity. I fill up where fuel is cheapest.

Danasdaddy2002
Explorer
Explorer
So I monitored another road trip to see if what I learned here had stuck with me.
. My 1ST time ever towing a trailer I got 7 MPG.
This time after adding the proper PSI to the truck tires and driving at a max speed of 60 MPH with the cruise control on when possible I got 10.5 MPG
Big difference to say the least. Thanks guys.

dannydimitt
Explorer
Explorer
Tvov wrote:
Slowmover, I'm not disagreeing with you. No need for any more explanations.

:)Good Morning !
as far as miniscule added fuel consumption items are concerned,
how about when the sway control bar "or bars" are cranked down tight
and the driver can feel when the braking mechanism in them stop and release as the vehicle is effected by passing trucks,cross winds, road crown , etc. and the trailer and towing vehicle are locked together for a time not exactly in line with each other . For the time said vehicles are in this position there are a set of tires that are scrubbing a bit with the road trying to regain precise forward alignment. This will also add a bit over time to the fuel consumption.
not much , but a tidbit,

Tvov
Explorer
Explorer
Slowmover, I'm not disagreeing with you. No need for any more explanations.

Slowmover
Explorer
Explorer
Tvov wrote: