cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Lance 855S or Eagle Cap 850

PSUJIM85
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to truck camping and I am in bit of a quandary. I just purchased a Chevy HD3500 Diesel with a payload of 4265 lbs. (Crew cab with a short bed)

I have been looking at these shortbed slide out models, but I feel that they put me very close to being overweight when loaded. Does anyone have advice on owning these - which is better built? Also how did you find the weights - is the web site reliable or do they vary widely from what they present?

I also wondered if a driver side awning is useful or not?

Thanks for any advise
Jim
19 REPLIES 19

billtex
Explorer II
Explorer II
SugarHillCTD wrote:
Super_Dave wrote:
Jim,
As an EC 850 owner, I can say that everything else being equal, I would pick the EC over the Lance for skin and end cap design. The driver side awning was a huge waste of my money.

Dave

As a Lance 855s owner, I agree with Super Dave- I would buy the EC 850.

Not because of any problems with our Lance but because the EC has a better bathroom layout and more interior storage.

Ask Billtex- he is on this forum and decided on the EC 850 vs. the 855s

Thanks for the intro John!

Just rolled back in last night from a couple of weeks on the road; Acadia NP, Down East Maine, Canada...great hiking/biking/kayaking and lobster!
EC 850 has been great!

Jim; PM me and I will give you the whole story about our decision process...

Bill
2020 F350 CC LB
Eagle Cap 850
25'Airstream Excella
"Good People Drink Good Beer"-Hunter S Thompson

805gregg
Explorer
Explorer