cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

New to TT need some help please

jayson_medic
Explorer
Explorer
So i am new to TT but have been tent camping for years. My wife on the other hand has never been camping in any way. So i was thinking that a trailer would be the best/easiest way to introduce her to it. So my question is i have a 2009 chevy 1500 with max tow package and just got a set of airbags and brake controller for it (got a great deal) but i dont know what trailer to buy. i really want a bunkhouse as we have kids and want them to be able to bring friends. so any suggestions on which brand/modle? and is an outdoor kitchen really functional? i have many more questions but i will start with this one. thanks for any and all info.

ps per door tag have a 1700lbs payload and 9600 rating.
20 REPLIES 20

Lowsuv
Explorer
Explorer
Jayson,
if it was me , i would not go for the 31 footer that is really 35 feet .
KFS above had some really great ideas .
because you do not have previous experience with your wife camping , i would find a unit to rent .
the campers i have visited with in the campgrounds who pull a 31 footer ( 35 actual ) have all had diesel HD 2500 pickups and the happiest were using a dually .
too many folks buy a big trailer from the experince they got at the RV show when the trailer was parked .
when they go to tow that baby then reality sets in .
with TT's bigger is not always better .
if you insist on staying at 31 feet , buy used .
there are plenty available from first - timers who thought they could tow it with their expedition .

jayson_medic
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you all for hi info I think I have narrowed it down to
Premier 31bhpr

Solaire 307QBDSK

And may be a Coleman bunkhouse?

Anyone that has info good bad or ugly please feel free to voice it. I will gladly take it.

aclay
Explorer
Explorer