cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

surge protector?

turtletalk
Explorer
Explorer
Should I be using a surge protector at home and in campgrounds? What kind,etc..??
16 REPLIES 16

CA_Traveler
Explorer III
Explorer III
bobndot wrote:
I have been using a 30 amp Hughes Autoformer w/surge for many years with my trailers but not so much with the TC because I boondock with my Honda 2k.
On a few occasions , I have used it with the TC at CG's but not often.
I don't know if it's good or not so good but it's heavy.

Anybody have comments about it please let me know. Good or bad .
http://www.campingworld.com/shopping/item/30-amp-3-600-watt/72454

Bob
It serves a very useful function of boosting low voltage and it does have spike/surge protection. It does not have full power protection like not connecting power with a faulty plug. Given your limited use of shore power there is less reason to add a full protector.
2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob

CA_Traveler
Explorer III
Explorer III
Yes, I saw the "in CGs". 240V wiring is only one cause. I've encountered 2 reverse polarity plugs. But I'm not aware of any stats or reports concerning miswired plugs in CGs or otherwise.

Bob

Old-Biscuit
Explorer III
Explorer III
CA Traveler wrote:
Old-Biscuit wrote:
Not as many miss-wiring issues with 30A in CGs vs what can happen with 50A.
In my experience a 30A plug is more likely to miswired and the reason is very simple. A 30A RV plug is not a standard household plug and it looks very much like the common 240V 3 wire home dryer plug, unfortunately.

The 50A plug is a standard household plug.

But any plug can be miswired

Noted the 'bold print'.......

Also note the rest of my post:
Disclaimer: