cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Temperature gun for brakes and bearings?

Jvandererlip
Explorer
Explorer
Is anyone using a temperature laser gun to monitor brakes and bearings?
I'll be hitting the Smokey Mountains in the spring towing a travel trailer. I thought it would be good information to have.
What number values should I be looking for as a maximum?
I'm an airline pilot and I constantly monitor brake temperature while taxiing. It seems really strange not to have that information available. Do any trucks or big rigs display brake temperature?
28 REPLIES 28

Jvandererlip
Explorer
Explorer
Grit dog wrote:
Good garsh.... just another thing to worry about.
You can tell if your brakes are getting hot. And AFTER you pull over at the Crapper Barrel for lunch is not the right time.
Touching the bearing hub has always worked for trailer bearings for me. But then again, Iโ€™m not one to grab on tight to a hub that is obviously radiating heat. Put my hand on the stove once about 40 years ago. Cured me of that right quick.

That's the dilemma, you're getting the information after the fact. It'd be nice to have it real time.
I might pick one up anyways. It might be a good way to see if your trailer brakes are working too hard on the downhills or not enough.
Thanks for all the replies.

Grit_dog
Navigator
Navigator
Good garsh.... just another thing to worry about.
You can tell if your brakes are getting hot. And AFTER you pull over at the Crapper Barrel for lunch is not the right time.
Touching the bearing hub has always worked for trailer bearings for me. But then again, Iโ€™m not one to grab on tight to a hub that is obviously radiating heat. Put my hand on the stove once about 40 years ago. Cured me of that right quick.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

memtb
Explorer
Explorer
Jvandererlip wrote: