cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Towing: I may have a problem...

scjohnson243
Explorer
Explorer
Good afternoon all - I first wanted to say I am very new to this entire thing (Camping, towing, etc). I just bought a 2018 Starcraft Autumn Ridge Outfitter 26BHS about 2 months ago, and have brought it to camp about 4-5x so far. We have been Loving it! Towing it around and backing it up have been a challenge, but its slowly getting better.

We have a 5.7l 2005 Dodge 1500 that we use to tow with, the dealer assured us that "All his trailers" were towable by our truck, so we went and bought the bigger one. Last time we took it out, on the way home I started getting a "Transmission hot" warning light - it only stayed on for a few seconds, then went off. A few days later my wife was driving the truck without pulling and the light came on again for a few seconds then went off.

I took the truck to the Mechanic this afternoon - the transmission fluid is full, there are no leaks, and it does not appear "dark" or smell burnt, so the next thing is the sensor itself could be going bad.

I would love to upgrade to a new Diesel truck, and that's the long-term plan before we plan any long trips, but I don't want to destroy my current truck! has anyone gone through this? I have another camping trip coming up this weekend we have all been looking forward to, and its only about 45minutes from my house so its another close trip.

Any advice/help/etc would be greatly appreciated.
26 REPLIES 26

badsix
Explorer
Explorer
you should have no problem with that truck. i'm wondering what rear end gears you have, should be around 340 or 373 the 373 is better.
Jay D.

naturist
Nomad
Nomad
Welcome to the forum.

And yes, salesmen lie. There’s a joke: how can you tell if a politician is lieing? His lips are moving. Guess what? Pols are slackers compared to salesmen.

Lynnmor
Explorer
Explorer