cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Renting RV Late Dec. - Phoenix-Denver...All Routes Unsafe?

supplyguy
Explorer
Explorer
Help please. First time Cruise America RV renter planning to take wife and 16 year old daughter from Phoenix to Denver via Grand Canyon and Four Corners 26-31 December in a 25' rental. Was trying to plan routes from Four Corners to Denver (Durango? Moab? Southerly route to I-25N?) and asked for route advice on Trip Advisor where I'm getting crushed for endangering my family and told to cancel trip. I have driven all over the world but admittedly never an RV. Are all routes really that risky due to weather? Second question - Cruise America suggested RV would be winterized upon arrival in Denver at my expense. Not concerned about cost, but isn't it too late to winterize there given the anticipated cold en route? Last question - planned to overnight at RV parks with full hookups, although I am still learning what that means. Presuming the RV should be winterized in Phoenix before departure - is a 5 day drive with no water/toilet/showers a miserable experience? Appreciate wisdom and patience as I learn. Otherwise I have to start looking at Plan B (Phoenix loop) or Plan C (eat the $300 deposit and plan a different Christmas break).
27 REPLIES 27

4runnerguy
Explorer
Explorer
Even if you get to the south rim, at 6800' you may find significant snow that makes it tough to walk out to some of the view points.

We've camped in the Tucson area in the time frame you are talking about and had a great time. But as we headed home, conditions got nasty. Now I'm a CO native, drive to go skiing all the time, and have camped with a trailer for 20 years, and it wasn't a fun drive once we got north of Phoenix.

Around Tucson you can visit the various parts of Saguaro NP and head over to Kartchner Caverns. Near Phoenix there are a couple of NM's preserving native ruins.