cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Clunking noise while towing

Explorer
Explorer
I am new to driving a fifth wheel, but not new to towing. I just got a 98 31' sea breeze fifth wheel. I am using a 15k Reese hitch with kwik sliders. Any time I accelerate from a stop, there is a loud and noticeable "clunking" sound that comes from the trailer. I used the search function, but couldn't find anything. Does anyone know what might cause this and if it is a real problem or not.
37 REPLIES 37

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
Had a RBW hitch then changed to B&W, so much nicer! No more annoying clunking.

Sold the RBW on Craig's List.
2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

Mike_LeClair
Explorer
Explorer
goin2themountains wrote:
Yep, Reese clunk. However, knowing that nothing is wrong, the sound is intrinsic in the hitch design, I keep towing and ignore it as I have for the last 9 years.

Oh! I like this reply the best! This is EXACTLY what I have been and will continue to do. Sometimes I kind of wonder if the pursuit of the best of the best of the best hasn't gotten just a wee tad out of control in our first world countries. Just saying! (flame proof suit ON!)

Cheers!

Mike
Something Old, Something New
2012 F350 SRW, 6.7l Powerstroke, 3.55's front and rear.
2008 Fleetwood Regal 325RKTS
Mike, Carol and our 4 legged "furry child" Kenzie Shweenie Tod

overthehillbill
Explorer
Explorer
car2900 wrote:
Been there, done that. Had a Reese 15K w/slider, clunk, clunk, clunk. Realized I never used the slider. Got the B&W Patriot that drops right down in the standard rails. No more clunk. Great hitch. Thanks to Craigslist I sold the Reese to someone that will have clunk, clunk, clunk.