cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How many of you full timers work only seasonally?

carlsdrivein
Explorer
Explorer
Hello there, I'm new here, and to rving in general but I'd like to ask a few questions regarding what you do for work while on the road. I have a few ideas of ways to make money while I'm gone, I'm a freelance photographer and I'm starting a travel blog with my girlfriend, but I know the likelihood of those supporting us completely are very slim, so I'm interested in other more concrete ways. Ideally I'd like to find something I can do every year for a few months, working nonstop during that time until the job is over, so we can have the rest of the year free to travel. Other than the harvest picking jobs in the lower 48, the only jobs like that I know about are here in Alaska, like fishing lodges, canneries and on the railroad, where you sign a contract for 3-5 months and work 12 hours every day, which is ideal except for that it's in alaska and if we're having to travel all the way back north each year for work, it's gonna get really expensive. So I'm just curious if anyone else knows of any jobs like this in the lower 48, some perhaps you guys do when you're in need of extra cash. Thanks for any suggestions!
17 REPLIES 17

4X4Dodger
Explorer II
Explorer II
missourijan wrote:
There are jobs with the Corp of Engineer parks around the country that pay $70 - $100 every day worked. They are from 4 to 8 months of the year. You have to bid on them. Every park is different as to how many days & hours worked.

DETAILS Details???? Contacts Web sites??

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
Roofing is a job 6-7 months of the year in the Midwest. Most contractors hire on a job by job basis, so it isn't steady, but build multiple connections and you can stay busy.