Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please help a tourist - added photos and estimate

yagil_tzur
Explorer
Explorer
https://twitter.com/YagilTzur/status/407984665513820160/photo/1

I am a tourist which recently got back home after 2 weeks RV rental in which we traveled through Bryce, Zion, Grand Canyon, Yosemite. The travel was great. the US is amazingly beautiful. During the travel, I scratched the RV. The damage is shown in the attached photo. I was charged $1100 for the damage. As I have no experience with RVs, I'm struggling with the question whether it is a reasonable or exaggerated amount? (especially as the RV rental company, probably pays much less then a private owner). Any opinion will be appreciated as it may help my case.
36 REPLIES 36

bob_b1
Explorer
Explorer
They probably won't fix it. In fact they'll rent it out to someone who doesn't notice the damage and they'll sock them with an $1100 repair bill too. This damage could be a big money maker.

You think I'm kidding? I used to work for Reserve Rent-A-Car (now out of business). The managers would pull this stuff all the time. Never once did a scratched car get fixed.

Q: Are you sure that you CAUSED this damage or do you THINK that you did?

Related story: I once talked to a handy-man in a big apartment complex. If he saw a damaged door on a newly vacated apartment, he was instructed to document the damage with a camera and to swap the door with a good door from another empty unit. The tenant would lose their deposit. The next un-wary tenant would lose their deposit too...and so on and so on. The damaged door was paid for in lost deposits many, many times. This happened in a college town, so usually the former tenants were way out of town by the time they found out. They were unlikely to fight back. I'd get the credit card company involved.
'93 Itasca Suncrusier diesel towing a '05 Honda CR-V.
Bob, Pam(DW), Bridget(DD) and Christine(DD)