cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

tank sensor accuracy

Rmack1
Explorer
Explorer
I'm a newbie, and after my fifth trip, I've noticed that my water tank sensors are different. At least I think they are.

What I mean is; the waste tanks tend to read high. In other words, they read being full a good deal before they actually are. On the other hand, the potable water tank seems to read low, just like a car fuel gauge. It reads low, indeed empty, a bit before actually being empty.

This would sort of make sense, so that the hapless RV owner would be prompted to correct the situation as it was developing, rather than wait until it was too late. I just want to make sure this is what I'm seeing.

I'm sure my black tank reading full just after I dumped it, RIGHT after doing a three day full sensor cleaning flush, with lots of fresh water is due to a chunk of toilet paper (marine only!) that has got stuck on the sensors.

Just shoot me now!
Ray and Carol, Boxers Duke and Duchess
2013 Forrest River Rockwood Mini-Lite 22' trailer, with the Murphy bed.
25 REPLIES 25

DE88ROX
Explorer
Explorer
Harvey51 wrote:
I worried about tank levels until someone here pointed out that the waste tanks are larger than the fresh water tank, so they cannot fill up between freshwater fill ups. I put a clear plastic tube over the freshwater drain so I can see the level in the tube. I know when to fill up - and make a point of dumping at the same time.

I have 90 Gal. fresh and 35 gal black and 35 gal gray.
[COLOR=]TV- 2010 GMC Sierra Z71 EXT. cab
TT- 2012 Starcraft Autumn Ridge235fb

jnharley
Explorer
Explorer
We have the Sea Level gauges and still the galley tank does not read correctly. It is narrow in height and because of that, it is difficult to get an accurate reading. The others work fine though.
2015 Dodge Dually
2012 NuWa Discover America 355CK

Harvey51
Explorer
Explorer