cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Aux. brake control

dodge_guy
Explorer II
Explorer II
OK, got a question on the add-on braking system for the TOAD/Dinghy. We`re looking at class A`s and I`de like to have some of the $$$$$$$ stuff before we get the MH. In looking at some (mainly the ones that attach to the brake pedal on the drivers floor), how do these work exactly. I know how the system itself operates, but how do they get the vacuum to depress the brake pedal? or do they just have so much force it doesn`t matter to the brake actuator? I know how a car brake system works (I`m an auto tech by trade). Just curious if these systems work properly.

And with that, what is a good brake system? I`ve been watching for a used system on CL. But I don`t want to buy junk! so what would I look for?

Thanks!
Wife Kim
Son Brandon 17yrs
Daughter Marissa 16yrs
Dog Bailey

12 Forest River Georgetown 350TS Hellwig sway bars, BlueOx TrueCenter stabilizer

13 Ford Explorer Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP Tow>
A bad day camping is
better than a good day at work!
11 REPLIES 11

gasser9
Explorer
Explorer
Have had great performancr from my SMI stay & play The only thing to do is plug in the break away & turn on the switch. About 2 1/2 hours the first time to install by watching the video & directions.

Ductape
Explorer
Explorer
The vacuum is not necessary; car braking systems are designed to operate without boost if necessary. The braking units have plenty of force.

I chose the RVi system because you can monitor, adjust and control it from the driver's seat of the MH.
49 States, 6 Provinces, 2 Territories...

navegator
Explorer
Explorer
I have an older SMI system that uses a hard wired system from the RV to the vehicle, the new SMI for hydraulic brakes is totally diferent and does not need all of what I have, from reading the info all the equipment is out of sight and all you do is turn it off and tow.