cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Dinghy Towing Systems - Which One?

UMAlum
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to dinghy towing and after reading various posts I am questioning my original choice of going with a Roadmaster Sterling All Terrain tow bar package, brackets, guardian tow shield and invisibrake and accessory kit. Estimate for this package installed at a local Camping World is just under $4k.

Given this is a line that Camping World sells I assume it should be reliable. What I don't know is a reasonable price and what other options are out there.

I am looking for a quality system that is easy to use (especially for someone new to dinghy towing).

Thanks
12 REPLIES 12

Stealth1
Explorer
Explorer
To answer your question, the Roadmaster Sterling Tow Bar and plates are an excellent choice! I can't comment on the braking system, I don't use that one and I personally prefer the "Tow Shield" to protect our car. The Tow Shield blankets the front of the car from above the windshield to below the air dam and fender wheel well to fender wheel well!
Ken & Anita
Newmar Essex, 45', 4 Slide, Cummins 500 ISM, Custom Graphics
2013 Honda CRV
Good Sam, FMCA, Hoots Nation

cjoseph
Explorer
Explorer
This is from the 2013 Ford, F-53 motorhome chassis owners manual:

"Trailer Brakes: Electric brakes and manual, automatic or surge-type brakes are safe if installed properly and adjusted to the manufacturerโ€™s specifications. The trailer brakes must meet local and Federal regulations."

I just searched the 2013 Tiffin Open Road Owners Manual and it said:

"Any vehicles to be towed by the motor home should have adequate active braking."

So, I learned some new things today:

I don't know what an "active" brake system is and Winnebago is not confident enough in their hitch work to give the go-ahead to surge brakes. Or, surge brakes have a bad rap from years past and Winnebago isn't taking any chances.
Chuck, Heidi, Jessica & Nicholas