cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

How do you hang things on your walls

stevewise
Explorer
Explorer
I am quite new to living in a 5er and was wondering how people mount things to the walls of there trailer. I am looking to mount some small shelves, but I am not sure what the exterior walls are made of as to what kind of fastener to use?
'15 Sierra 377FLIK
'14 Ford F350 SRW King Ranch
DW and Cricket the Chihuahua
10 REPLIES 10

westend
Explorer
Explorer
Your 5th wheel

Vacuum bonded aluminum frame. If you are not conversant with stud finders, drilling, and fasteners, I'd suggest to use the Command strips. Some of them will hold considerable weight.
'03 F-250 4x4 CC
'71 Starcraft Wanderstar -- The Cowboy/Hilton

tatest
Explorer II
Explorer II
On a FR Sierra, the exterior walls are foam sandwiched between luan on inside (very thin plywood) and luan + sheet plastic on the outside. Your anchor has to grip the foam without going through the wall.

I'm not sure about the thickness. It could be as little as one-inch total thickness, particularly the outside wall of a slide out.

There is some aluminum square tubing used around the perimeter of the wall, with additional vertical braces, and sometimes some horizontals to frame openings, but not the full framing like a house. This tubing may go skin to skin (for a one-inch wall) or may be only on the outside, so as to leave some foam insulation on the inner (I know this as a Winnebago practice). Don't count on finding usable studs.

Stick-ons work for something not too heavy, but can peel the coated paper trim off the luan.

Factory mounted stuff uses wooden or metal plated imbedded in the wall. You could try to find those more solid spots.
Tom Test
Itasca Spirit 29B

TucsonJim
Explorer
Explorer