Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shower Drain Clogged

rudyvanallen
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all,
I am a newbie here.Does anybody have any experience unclogging drains.My shower drain is clogged. I am not a huge fan of chemicals. I have a two year old kid and I don’t like to leave anything harmful lying around. I went online to search for any diy methods to unclog drains. I found an article from brothers plumbing that mentions 6 easy ways to unclog a drain and I think that the steps are pretty easy to follow.Some of them include poring boiling water into the clogged drain and some include using a mixture of baking soda and vinegar.Are these methods effective has anybody ever tried them?
Thanks
12 REPLIES 12

JimK-NY
Explorer II
Explorer II
If you have a two year old, you really need to think about how to store detergents, medicines and all sorts of potentially hazardous stuff. I would put drain cleaner in that category. Look at every item even those with child proof containers.

Personally I don't see any good substitute for drain cleaner. After a while every drain seems to develop a build up of oils, hair and other particles. Drain cleaner will take care of the build up. Other methods typically just work for the short term. BTW, drain cleaner is not especially hard on the environment. It is basically just lye and is readily neutralized.

Bob_Vaughn
Explorer
Explorer
My wife washes her hair every night so over time hair clogged our shower drain, I popped the little cap off and low and behold hair had clogged it....I cleaned out the hair and wammo it started to drain like new, so your culprit may just be a hair ball.

Gene_Ginny
Explorer
Explorer
gbopp wrote:
..If it's a lot of hair causing the clog, you may need to use a ZIP IT or something similar. ....
That ZIP IT looks handy. I used a piece of stiff wire with a hook bent into the end.
Gene and DW Ginny
[purple] 2008 Toyota 4Runner 4.7L V8 w/factory towing option