cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Suggestions for a Weight Distribution Hitch

Max_s_Mom
Explorer
Explorer
Hi. I am new to towing and my now new tow vehicle - 2021 Chevy Silverado 1500 4x4 with Advanced tow package and integrated brake controller - states I will get around 11,000 lbs towing weight with a Weight Dist. Hitch. TW, 1100 lbs. Front Gross Axel Wt: 3800, Rear Gross Axel Wt: 4150 max Tires: 275/60R20, Bridgestones

I have ordered a FR Surveyor 202RBLE, Dual Axles, UVW: 4931 lbs, (brochure) Hitch Weight: 497 lbs. (unloaded) CCC: 2566 lbs. (I will NOT be loading to max weight here)
Ext. Height: 11โ€™2โ€, Ext. Width: 96โ€, Ext. Length: 24โ€™4โ€

Iโ€™m considering:
Andersen WDH with Sway control, Husky Centerline TS, Equalizer 4 point or ???

I want: EASY hook up and unhook, to be able to back up and hook and unhook at ANY angle, QUIET operation while under tow, lightest weight and simplest maintenanceโ€ฆ all while providing excellent sway control and weight distribution! Is this too much to ask???

I would like your thoughts as this is an important piece of information that I need prior to delivery of my trailer! Which of these would you recommend with my RIG situation? or another brand completely? And why would one be better over another? Thanks for your help.
23 REPLIES 23

noteven
Explorer III
Explorer III
Here is a video about setting a weight distributing hitch

Clicky

BarneyS
Explorer III
Explorer III
pitch wrote:
wowens79 wrote:
Take a look at the Blue Ox Sway Pro, no noise, and you can backup with it. I've had one for 6 years, and would buy it again.

Snip... I back up with my Anderson all the time. just loosen the sway bar and don't jackknife.
Snip....

The Andersen hitch does not have a "sway bar" to loosen. The sway control comes from the material that the ball cone sits in on the hitch head.
If you DO have an Andersen then your statement makes no sense at all to me.
2004 Sunnybrook Titan 30FKS TT