cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Fiberglass Wax- any recommendations ?

K_Mac
Explorer
Explorer
I have a Northern Lite TC, and I was looking to see what wax your happy with. I didn't see any at local car shops,so I guess I'll go to a boat shop. Wanna get a coat on before my next trip, thanks K.
13 REPLIES 13

loggenrock
Explorer
Explorer
I HIGHLY recommend Protect-All! I've been using this stuff for about 15 years now on 1st my Northstar TC, my fibreglas boat, and for the past 10 years my Roadtrek (which has an all-fibreglas raised roof). I find the best pricing on the 16 oz size right at WalMart (in the RV section). You can buy larger quantities on-line, but it actually costs more. I like this size as it comes in a pump spray bottle. Use it 2, sometimes 3 times a year, since it really is easy to apply. Wash it first, let it dry, then simply spray Protect-All on, buff around with a dry towel, done. I've got almost 100k on the van now - paint, decals, lenses all look good. Wax-based, but leaves no white residue around windows, etc. Wish I got a cut for recommending it - but really am pleased with the product. ST
Two and a hound in a 2015 Coachmen Prism "B+"...pushed by '09 Suby Forester
First 50 done, working on the second pass! Nunavut - we'll see...!
2005-2015 Roadtrek 190P
1993-2005 Northstar Soft-Side TC
1989-1993 Backpacks & Tents!
1967-1977 Family TT's

Ranger_Tim
Explorer
Explorer
Collinite makes a fiberglass boat cleaner that strips dirt and other contaminants to leave a prisitne surface for the wax to bond. Then I always used Collinite's Fleetwax, two coats. Lots of hard work but stood up to a solid year of salt water on the Atlantic. The liquid boat wax is also good stuff. Can be found online for good price. Beware of waxes that go on easy and buff out to a nice high shine, only to be dull and worthless in less than a month. Sunlight kills anything but a real carnauba wax. Some other good recommendations before me as well.