cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie looking for some assistance

danv1317
Explorer
Explorer
I'm a travel nurse as well as my girlfriend. We decided we want to buy an RV to live out of for the next year as we travel the country (including alaska) to work. We have a brand new F150 v6 Ecoboost 145" wheelbase, 3.31 electronic lock RR axle, 7200# GWR, and the integrated trailer brake. A lot of the numbers i'm seeing are somewhat confusing to me. All the different payload, towing, tounge and so on...

The other kicker is i have to bring my 450lb motorcycle as i use that to commute and my girlfriend uses the truck.

We are trying to find out how big/heavy of a trailer we can purchase that my truck can handle. Any advice is appreciated. We are looking for used RV since we new to this. Only requirement is that it needs a shower. We are both 6 feet tall so we obviously want big as we can, but we realize that are truck will be the limiting factor.

Please let me know what is within my range. Thanks again for any advice you can offer.
Thanks
Dan
25 REPLIES 25

TomG2
Explorer
Explorer
Get some scaled weights and come back when you can post them. You are going to be very disappointed/surprised when you find out how small your future trailer needs to be. If you want a guess to work with, here it is. Payload remaining after people, stuff, and mc are loaded, plus or minus 600 pounds. Tongue weight of 5,000 pound gvwr trailer at 13% = 650 pounds. I doubt that I am off more than a hundred pounds. Looking forward to being proved wrong.

atwowheelguy
Explorer
Explorer
danv1317 wrote: