cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TC sways jacking up and down. will I ever get used to this?

Wagonqueen_Truc
Explorer
Explorer
I absolutely hate being involved in taking off and putting on our "new to us TC". I know that the bit of swaying when taking it off and on is normal, but it stresses me out. I am new at this of course and used to towing a TT... Will I ever get used to this? Or should I just get used to idea of having to have a shot and a beer once the camper is successfully placed on the truck and/or bzck on it's wooden nest.
19 REPLIES 19

rkortes
Explorer
Explorer
I never did get used to it even with electric jacks. Was one (of many) reasons I went to a fifth wheel. That was always freaky to me.
Truck - 2005 GMC 3500 SRW Duramax/Ali
Toy Hauler - 2008 Ragen FA3005
The Journey Is The Destination!

Wagonqueen_Truc
Explorer
Explorer
cool. THANKS

dadwolf2
Explorer
Explorer
Wagonqueen Truckster wrote:
1971amerigo wrote:
Good morning Truckster
No different here and I still have the original 3 jacks from 1971.
What I did was I made up a set of the plywood x supports that are as tall as the truck bed. Reinforced them by adding vertical 2x6 to all the edges.
Now when I have to take the camper off the truck it is just a matter of raising it 3 inches to get if off the truck and lowering 2 inches onto the supports

Yea... we have a hug box (nest) my hubby constructed for the renovation. It is almost as high as the truck bed, but the problem is it weighs a ton. Hard for the 2 of us to slide it in and out from under the camper. Do you think there are coaster wheels strong enough to hold the weight of the TC?

Check out: www.castercity.com There are a lot of caster wheels strong enough. Not to long ago two of our TC'ers showed us pictures of excellent home built dollies that carry the weight of the entire TC.
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 CTD,4X4,NV5600
2014 Adventurer 86FB

1971amerigo
Explorer
Explorer