Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Tow Vehicle Advice For Newbie

RVdreaming2020
Explorer
Explorer
Hi All!

I've been browsing through the forums for awhile and decided to finally join up and post. I am hoping to get some feedback on two tow vehicles that I have my eye on. I am new to travel trailers and towing in general. We are a young family and are struggling with making the right decision on trucks. We don't have a specific trailer picked out yet but most of the bunkhouse ones that we've seen come in right around the 7,000 lb mark fully loaded.

I am bouncing between a pre-owned F150 and a pre-owned Tundra.

With the F150 I've been looking for a 2013 to 2017 V8 with less than 60k miles, max tow package 4x4 Crew cab with the 3.73 rear end. This is proving to be a very difficult thing to find. The V6 eco boosts are everywhere but I made the mistake of reading too much about them online and am now terrified of getting one and having reliability issues with the turbo in them. BUT the 2018 F150 V8s and newer seem to have bad issues with oil loss. So IDK.

I like the 5.4 V8 tundra but the price is a lot higher and their payload is significantly less than the F150. On the plus side it has a 4.41 rear end.

I'm just so overwhelmed. I'd appreciate any advice. It's so confusing making sure you find something preowned with all of the accessories that you need to safely tow trailers. I don't want to buy something and realize that I've made a mistake. Been saving too long to mess it up now, hahaha
59 REPLIES 59

Grit_dog
Navigator
Navigator
And based on the millions of trucks running around that donโ€™t have manual hubs, itโ€™s not the advantage that it was 40 years ago compare to old school full time 4wd rigs.
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5โ€ turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

Grit_dog
Navigator
Navigator