cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Towing Problem

budger1719
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 27' 2015 Keystone Laredo towed with a 2016 F350. Trailer weight-6400 lbs. We have a sway bar and leveling bars. The best way to explain what the camper is doing is: If you had a VERY large container of water on a trailer pulling it and the water was sloshing back and forth you can feel the forward and backward motion in the trailer. I know this is not explained very well but this is my first year pulling a camper. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.
10 REPLIES 10

bobndot
Explorer II
Explorer II
I would say it's the spring bar tension in the hitch set up. Often performed incorrectly at some dealerships.
From your explanation ,because you are towing with more than enough truck, it sounds to me that you have too much lifting by the bars.
As a quick test, you should try it for a short ride direct to the ball to test it out. See if more hitch weight cures what you are feeling.
While hooked up, too much WD lift will cause your truck tires to easily spin on gravel by increasing the transfer of more weight to the trucks front end. You need to balance your load.

AT 6500# or so, I'll bet the transporter delivered that TT to the dealer using no WD hitch .
What's happening to you now, as the TT travels over imperfect road surface it lifts up on your hitch more so and you feel it pushing you in your seated position, towards the trucks front end. If this is what you are felling, then its an easy quick fix.

Take measurements, start with a level TT. Measure the TT frame to the ground both front and rear. Now,measure the ht. of the inside of the ball mount. At approx. 20" give or take, this will be your hitch height. This is where you start, now move to the truck.
( Load the truck as you normally would to take the wheel well height measurements as well as the ball measurements.)

Use the method in this link, then road test it .