cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Dinghy Back Up

Katy_Did
Explorer
Explorer
Ok. I am a newbie. I am considering towing 4 down. I have a couple of simple questions.

1. I am reading that I will be unable to back up a 4 down tow. Can anyone tell me why? I know, may be a simple answer, but if the car is in the neutral, why can it not be backed up?

2. I have a 2013 Smart Car. I am getting feedback I am unable to tow it, so I am considering trading it in for a Chevy Malibu. Any thoughts from those that are experienced. I have a small 23E Thor and do not require a truck. Just a small get around.

I would appreciate your help.
25 REPLIES 25

willald
Explorer II
Explorer II
j-d wrote:
Well, let's see. In a panic stop, a 4000-lb car presses against the towbar in the way the towbar was designed to work. And hopefully with not all that much pressure since the toad should have a supplemental braking system.

But when the rig backs up and the front wheels of the toad jam into their stops, a 14000-lb motorhome presses the towbar in a crooked way that it wasn't designed for.

And, oh, the same thing happens to tie rods, tie rod ends and rack/pinion in the toad.

Indeed, if the front wheels jam off to the left or right when backing, and you continue backing up that way...Yep, you're going to break stuff very quickly, one of which could be your tow bar.

HOWEVER, most folks would have enough sense to STOP backing well before that happens. That is why if you must back up, you do so slooowly, only in as straight a line possible, and watching the toad carefully. Soon as front wheels on toad start to turn, you pretty much have to stop.

As long as you take that approach, you are not going to break a tow bar or anything else. Despite what the gloom and doomers say. ๐Ÿ™‚