cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rid-X for Black Water Tank ??

GoPackGo
Explorer
Explorer
For whatever reason, it suddenly dawned on me that maybe I should just use Rid-X in my black water tank instead of the overpriced additives that are sold for camping use. I realize I might not get the odor control that some might provide, but on the other hand, if the Rid-X does it's job, maybe that won't be so much of a problem.

I should add that I am just starting out as a full-timer so this would be for long-term use, as opposed to just weekend or vacation use.

Do any of you use Rid-X or a like product ?

Thanks,

Tim
20 REPLIES 20

12thgenusa
Explorer
Explorer
Nutinelse2do wrote:
We use the Geo method and tank water is crystal clear with zero odor. And no chemicals.

You must be on a "water only" diet. If you're putting the "real stuff" in there it won't ever be crystal clear.

2007 Tundra DC 4X4 5.7, Alcan custom rear springs, 2009 Cougar 245RKS, 370 watts ET solar, Victron BMV-712, Victron SmartSolar 100/30, 200AH LiP04 bank, ProWatt 2000.

2gypsies1
Explorer
Explorer
As full-timers for 16 years we have never used anything in our tanks...and no smells. Lots of water is all you need.
Full-Timed for 16 Years
.... Back in S&B Again
Traveled 8 yr in a 40' 2004 Newmar Dutch Star Motorhome
& 8 yr in a 33' Travel Supreme 5th Wheel

hershey
Explorer
Explorer
Many people use chemicals of different flavors in their holding tank. Makes them feel good about the care they are taking. Many people don't use anything...
Suggest you at least try not using anything. I haven't used any chemicals for the last 8 years of fulltiming and just haven't found the need. If it doesn't work for you, choose one of the name brands to supplement your waste disposal.
hershey - albuquerque, nm
Someday Finally Got Here
My wife does all the driving - I just get to hold the steering wheel.
Face Book Group: All About RVing and We Fly RC's
Expedition - Chevy Equinox

JEBar