cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Diesel Generator in tow vehicle

bigdon68
Explorer
Explorer
Has anyone installed a Diesel Generator in their diesel tow vehicle? Seems line a logical setup. If so, what make of generator did you use (onan, etc) and how has it worked out.

bigdon68
2017 F450 Lariat Shadow Black / Magnetic, LB, 6.7, Chrome Pkg. TS3 Air Hitch, Retrax, 55 Gal.Aux.Tank
2017 DRV Mobile Suites,induction cooktop, solar, f/b paint, MorRyde IS, 17.5" Tires,residential frig, 3" riser, MorRyde Steps

MY PICTURES
16 REPLIES 16

e-light
Explorer
Explorer
Heck..eventually these 3/4 ton and 1 ton trucks will run electric motors with diesel generators themselves...

But as to the OP, I have seen folk with them at campgrounds, but I have no experience with a diesel generator myself. My Champion Inverter (2800 maybe? Can't remember the model) runs my AC and will charge my batteries. I have a big solar kit that I need to install to keep the batteries charged, once I do that I won't need a generator ๐Ÿ™‚ Well I prefer AC, but you know...
2015 Cougar 339BHS 5er
2016 RAM 2500 Crew Cab, 4x4, Laramie, 6.7L Cummins
Andersen Ultimate Aluminum 5th Wheel Connection
GONE:
2014 RAM 2500 Crew Cab, 4x4, Tradesman, 6.4L Hemi

LowRyter
Explorer
Explorer
I've always wondered why trucks couldn't be optioned with a generator option running on the vehicle's engine + hybrid system. A computer could control the engine so that it wasn't running all the time.

Just plug into the an outlet in the bed and hit the switch.
John L
WW SL 2805 5th Wheel
2004.5 Chevy 2500HD Allison Duramax X Cab
Ducati 939 SS, Moto Guzzi V11 Sport, Moto Guzzi EV California and Suzuki 1200 Bandit

Turtle_n_Peeps
Explorer
Explorer
I'm I the only one on here that remembers the Ford PowerPack? :W
~ Too many freaks & not enough circuses ~

"Life is not tried ~ it is merely survived ~ if you're standing
outside the fire"