cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Towing a larger Travel Trailer

buffaloKev
Explorer
Explorer
Hey Guys, newbie here. I recently upgraded to a 35ft Nomad Joey that has a dry weight of 7250 lbs, but the sticker on the side says it weighs like 8100 lbs(not sure what that weight means, dry weight plus whats in the trailer?). We bought our 1st camper last December, 24ft light travel trailer but soon realized we wanted to upgrade since we have 2 children and fell in love with camping. I have a 2007 Toyota crewmax that has a max towing capacity around 10,400 lbs. We have taken it on a short trip of about 30-40 miles away from the house but we are getting ready for a 3-4 hour trip and I'm a little nervous. I've seen a lot of campers my size on the road being towed by 3/4 ton trucks. Should my Tundra be ok? or did I over do it with this big of a travel trailer? Recommended top speed? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
32 REPLIES 32

ol_Bombero-JC
Explorer
Explorer
buffaloKev wrote:

I talked to a dealership and they told me I was fine with my WD set up and sway bars...

Dealership will say you can tow it with a VW beetle to make a sale!..:R

If a salesperson's mouth is moving - don't believe him/her..;)

~

CKNSLS
Explorer
Explorer
Dog Trainer wrote:
This year we decided to sell our MH that we have put 80,000 miles on.
I have a love affair with my 2010 F150 max tow pkg. I really like the Flagstaff classic superlite series of TT. Here is where my fun began.
Our first impression was that we could tow any of the superlite trailer configurations, then I started studying the advertised weights. There was a variation of weights but I noticed the greater variation was in the tongue weights as advertised (DRY Weight ).
I know all the ford factory weights on my F150 so It became very clear v that with most of these classics we would have enough tongue weight to be over our GVW, long before we came to our cgvw or trailer tow rating.