cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Complete Newbie Needs Straight Talk

ricks99
Explorer
Explorer
Wife and I are longtime tent-campers trying to upgrade to a travel trailer. We're looking at something in the 15-17' range (such as Starcraft AR-One, R-Pod, etc.) weighing under 3,000.

Since my current vehicle (Ford Fiesta) wont tow *anything* I know I need to get a truck capable of safely towing a camper. I've tried to do my homework, but I'm going crazy...GVWR...GCW...axle rating...tongue weight...gear ratio...transmission coolers...

I've seen plenty of trucks in my price range ($10K) that I *think* will work (F150, Excusion, Silverado 1500, Yukon) but I've been unable to make an exact determination. The sellers sometimes have no idea what gear ratio the truck has. Or if the installed hitch is a "load distributing" hitch. Etc.

With the small size trailer we're looking at, can I safely assume that nearly any full-size vehicle with a V8 will work? Is there anywhere online that I can simply plug in a vehicle VIN and get a "you can safely tow XXXXX" determination?
2008 Dodge Ram 1500 (aka Rusty)
2017 Kodiak 172e Hybrid (aka Roxy)
26 REPLIES 26

mkirsch
Nomad II
Nomad II
Weight distribution is needed when the tongue weight of the trailer exceeds the "weight carrying" rating of the truck's receiver hitch, OR the tongue weight of the trailer causes too much weight to be transferred off the front wheels of the truck (causing handling/braking issues).

Many modern weight distribution designs also incorporate sway control that is far and away better than the old fashioned friction devices, so even if you don't need the weight distribution, it's not a bad idea to have it just for the sway control.

Putting 10-ply tires on half ton trucks since aught-four.

OutdoorPhotogra
Explorer
Explorer