Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replacement for 2002 Excursion 7.3L

Vol_Bengal
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all - here is my situation...
I've been towing campers since I was 18 years old. I towed the family camper back then. I pulled with an older Ford Econoline e350 w/ the 460 motor in it, I've driven the old (I mean my grandpa's old) F250 from years ago with the 460. I've pulled with a Suburban and I'm currently towing with a 2002 Ford Excursion 7.3. I've had it 14 years and it has been a fantastic vehicle for us. I've done the F250 spring upgrade to it, tuner, 4" turbo back exhaust, big cold air intake, etc., etc., etc. Two years ago I purchased a 2017 Mesa Ridge 310BHS that I fell in love with. It is 9265... dry. Loaded down, full complement of family in, etc. and all the different stuff I believe I'm pushing closer to 12,000... tongue weight is about 1265. The Excursion with the upgrades has been up to the task. However, the braking and such isn't on par with the F-series super duty's and I've been leery of it since I made the purchase quite honestly. I pulled the camper with my father's F350 7.3 dually Friday to the campground and fell in love...

Long and short of it - I don't need all the seating space of the Excursion any longer so I'm going to make a change to a 250/2500 or 350/3500 of some nature. I'm not married to gas or diesel simply because we tow the camper a grand total of maybe 1500 miles a year... maybe. This would be an extra vehicle not driven everyday.

Thoughts on 3/4 or 1 ton at 12,000 pounds? I intend in the 3-4 year window upgrade into a 5th wheel... likely 15-16,000 point 5th wheel. Ford 6.2L vs. 6.0 vs older 7.3 vs. 6.7 vs. Chevy Duramax vs. Dodge Cummins vs. Dodge 5.7L Hemi... I'm on the fence as to brand and fuel type... looking for help!!!
14 REPLIES 14

patperry2766
Explorer II
Explorer II