cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

full time rving and running the water heater

SGT_Price
Explorer
Explorer
I'm a newbie to all this, bought a 2016 keystone montana as a home on the road for work. Wondering what is best for the water heater, turn it off when i get out of the shower and turn it back on in the morning, or just let it run 24/7? Your thoughts please.
17 REPLIES 17

GMandJM
Explorer
Explorer
Our electric water heater gets turned off when we leave (when we remember).

At a CoE in FL there was a sign requesting that people turn off their electric water heaters unless they were using them.

We have an AquaHot system (that burns diesel instead of propane) for heating water. We leave that off unless we are going to need hot water for showers.
G-half can always find a way to do things upside-down, inside-out or backward.
It's his Super Power!

BigSur2
Explorer
Explorer
If i had ONLY gas I might try to save and turn it off when I'm gone for the day but I have elec so I leave it unless gone for days at a time.
BigSur2
2016 Jayco White Hawk 33RSKS

Sprink-Fitter
Explorer
Explorer
2gypsies wrote:
As full-timers if we were dry camping we turned it on for showers then turned it off. We paid for that propane. It doesn't hurt to wash your hands during the day with cold or lukewarm water. The water stays warm a long time - even enough for dish time.

If you use RV parks and electric is included, then leave it on.

When you lived in a house did you turn it off? I assume you paid for the fuel then also?
2006 Coachman Adrenaline 228FB

2012 Can Am Commander XT 1000

Old-Biscuit
Explorer III
Explorer III
No right/wrong way........just your way. What works/fits your need.

I like HOT water when I turn faucet on to hot side. I did not want to have to plan when to have hot water.

We FTd for 7 yrs. Prior to that camped for 40 yrs.
Hot water heater was turned ON when it was filled with water. Turned back off when done using RV.